Photobucket

srijeda, 18.03.2009.

An interesting little treat

Today I met with my dear friend (and dancing partner!) for little treat at the Apple Pie Bakery Cafe. It was nice to sit next to the window, enjoy the sunlight, have a cup of cafe mocha which is a perfect balance of espresso, steamed milk, and chocolate syrup (today it was a bit on the sweeter side) and try this new and tiny candle-like dessert. When I saw it in the display case, I knew I had to get it!

I am sure you are wondering what it is....Well, it has 3 layers of simple sponge cake with Bergamot filling in the middle. Everything is then covered in dark (around 60%) chocolate that has been sprayed with some golden color and then decorated with tiny colorful sugar decorations. It is like a three bite dessert that is packed with flavor! If you never tasted Bergamot before, you really should...

That's actually one of my favorite citruses, especially paired with dark chocolate. Bergamot is basically an orange that is native to Southeast Asia, but it is mostly grown in Calabria, Italy. Bergamot oil is extracted from Bergamot rind and it is used as a distinctive flavor and aroma to the Earl Gray Tea. Interesting, huh? :)


Photobucket

Photobucket

- 04:07 - Comments (5) - Isprintaj - #